The Maddie Diaries: A Memoir

maddie.jpg

Author: Maddie Ziegler

My Rating: 2/5

 

Okay, so for the record, I am a MASSIVE Dance Moms fan. I’ve been watching the show since the very first season and have been following Maddie, McKenzie, Nia, Kendall, Chloe, Kalani and JoJo on Facebook for quite a while now.

So, I just had to buy Maddie’s new book. While purchasing this book, I was fully aware this was a memoir written by a young teenager, so I did not expect incredible life stories and experiences in this book. Instead, I was eager to read about Maddie’s perspective on rising to fame while she was on Dance Moms, as well as working with Sia.

First of all, I would like to make it clear this book is geared towards children and young teens. This is an excellent book for young girls, tweens or teens who are fans of Maddie, Dance Moms or dancing in general. Because of this, I didn’t find the content that interesting. I did like how Maddie had several chapters filled with advice to other girls her age when it comes to dealing with family, friends, school and boys. So hey, if this book was written when I was ten years old, I am sure I would’ve loved it.

Now….for the major downside:

I became quite annoyed that many of Maddie’s friends, dance teachers etc wrote short essays about her and they were sprinkled all throughout the book. Each essay felt the exact same. Every singe one involved constant praise about how talented, friendly, mature and hardworking Maddie is. Um, I’m sorry, I didn’t buy this book to listen to Maddie’s BFF’s gushing about her. These essays came up frequently; and to me, they became very irritating.

I don’t know, perhaps I am just too much of a Dance Moms freak and wanted to read more about Maddie’s experiences when it came to being the center of such a popular reality tv show. Maybe it is because I am just not a dancer. I am not sure.

In the end, this memoir began with promise but ended with me being disappointed. But hey, I would still recommend this to any young girl who wants to follow their dreams.

Leave a Reply

