The Selection #1

selection

Author: Kiera Cass

My Rating: 2/5

“35 Girls. One Crown. The Competition of a Lifetime.”

I first heard of Kiera Cass when I stumbled on her awesome YouTube channel a couple of years ago. Her videos are hilarious, witty and entertaining.

I figured I’d give her fairly newish series a shot.

Basically, it’s The Hunger Games (minus the killing,) and The Bachelor (except you’re trying to steal the heart of a prince.) Ok, so for some, maybe that is a really sweet combination, but for me, the whole idea and plot fell short. Maybe it’s just the romance aspect that bored me to death, I rarely read any love triangle/romance novels. The Hunger Games had a love triangle arguably, but come on, there was oppression, rebellion and survival as well! I think the reason this book reminds me of the THG is that in both dystopian worlds, their societies are heavily controlled by a caste/class system. Similar to THG, in the Selection, you are born into a caste/district and the chance of climbing up in terms of careers and lifestyle are slim to none.

Or perhaps it was the cringe worthy names Cass decided to use that really made me shake my head in disbelief. One of the female character’s is called Tuesday, I shit you not, her name is Tuesday, after the day of the week. Oh, and the female protagonist of the series is called America Singer, who just happens to be a talented and paid singer, wow, didn’t see that one coming. And somehow, despite being a paid singer, America is in a low caste level…um, you would think jobs of the poor would be something less glamorous and more hard labour, or maybe that is just me?

I know a lot of people have been raving about this series, and maybe I would’ve enjoyed it too when I was a young teen, I’ll never know now.

I recommend this to teen girls, those who like romance novels or those who just enjoy The Bachelor in general. I, on the other hand, will not be continuing with this series.

(I still love her YouTube channel, so if you want, check it out here.)

Leave a Reply

