The End of My Gap Year

I went on a temporary hiatus, and during the past month quite a few things have changed for me. I am back in school and recently landed a new job at a thrift store.

These events may seem minor and/or every day life, but landing an actual interview and getting the job is huge for me. My social anxiety has been holding me back from so many things. Because of this, I figured it was best for me to take a gap year to work on my social anxiety along with my other mental health problems.

Today was my very first shift at my new job, and while it was quite nerve wracking to actually walk into the store as a new employee, I could go up and ask for help. This may seem minor as well, but it is such an improvement from what I used to be like. Me? Talking to strangers? If you told me that five years ago, I truly would not believe it.

imhappy

So that is what I have been up to recently, and I’m just really proud of myself. Was my gap year worth it? Absolutely. I am so glad I took the time to work on myself and figure out what I want to do with my life. I believe it is not only healthy to focus on yourself, but necessary.

Anyways, that is the end of my personal update, but I will be back soon with more book reviews and miscellaneous blog posts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

