The Christmas Doll

christmasdoll

My Rating: 5/5

Author: Elvira Woodruff

The Christmas Doll is without a doubt, my all time favourite children’s historical fiction. It is a charming and heartwarming story that I have read multiple times that I continue to enjoy each time I read it.

The story is set in London, England during the Victorian era. Two sisters, Lucy and Glory, were orphaned at a young age, now both working at a Victorian children’s work house. When an awful fever sweeps the work house, beginning to take many young lives with it, the sisters must make a fateful decision whether to escape or expect death from the fever.

Now, I’m going to give away right now the story itself is not the most realistic historical fiction piece, I grant you that. I won’t give out any spoilers, but be known this story could be classified as a “fairy tale,” more than a realistic portrait of poverty and struggles of orphaned children in the late 18th/early 19th century. So if you are searching for realistic background information on being a child orphan in the Victorian era, I encourage you to look somewhere else.

However, this is a children’s novel, after all. One could only expect that the harsh realities of the 19th century would be boiled down for the age appropriate readers.

The Christmas Doll is one of my top five favourite children’s books, a true Christmas classic to read. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys children’s classics and/or children’s historical fiction.

Leave a Reply

