Bathory: Memoir of a Countess

bathory

My Rating: 5/5

Author: A. Mordeaux

If you are looking for a historically fact-based biography on Erzsebet Bathory (pronounced Elizabeth Bathory,) for an essay or school project, this is without a doubt, not the book for you.

However, if you are looking for a scandalous, fast paced, erotic and incredibly dark story, I can not recommend Bathory any higher. I absolutely loved this book, and was sad when I finished reading it. I already know this will be one of the books I will be rereading for a long time to come, it is just absolutely amazing.

I am assuming this is one of those books that you will rather love it or hate it. I happened to fall in love with it, a historically accurate memoir, but also reads like excellent fiction. I could just not put it down.

The Countess has been accused of torturing and murdering more than 600 people, including children, so that alone will make many people dislike Bathory based on the subject matter. There are a lot of descriptive erotic and torture scenes, so I am strongly discouraging this book to anybody who dislikes creepy, disturbing and gruesome topics.

On the other hand, If you are into serial killers, lust, dark and twisted people, you simply cannot pass on Bathory.   

Or if you are more of a movie person, check out this creepy half hour documentary on Erzsebet Bathory:

Leave a Reply

