Top 5 Fairy Books

I have been fascinated with fairies since I was a little girl, so I’ve collected numerous books on the subject of fairies throughout my life. My favourite ones are, and probably always be, picture books. A large part of it for me is the creativity of how the book is layed out, the stories, and the beautiful pictures that make the story come to life.

I’ve narrowed down my top five favourite fairy picture books with a quick review. If you are looking an escape into a magical and beautiful world, I highly recommend these.

5.) Good Faeries Bad Faeries by Brian Froud

goodfairies  badfairies

I received this book as a Christmas present from my parents when I was very young, and some of the pictures of the bad fairies did scare me quite a bit! Mind you, I must have only been six years old at the time.

This is a flip book, on one side there are stories of “Good Faeries” and the other side, “Bad Faeries.” The art in this book is exquisite and the stories are lovely.

4.) Fairyopolis: A Flower Fairies Journal by Cicely Mary Barker

fairyyy

This is a beautiful journal-styled book picture book documented by Cicely Barker in the summer of 1920. Fairyopolis is full of pull out notes, pop up pictures and beautiful drawings. The font is sometimes a bit tricky to make out because it is supposed to look cursive and handwritten. Apart from that, absolutely amazing.

3.) Arthur Spiderwick’s Field Guide to the Fantastical World Around You by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi

fieldguide

This is an a companion book for the Spiderwick Chronicles series, but you do not need to be farmiliar with the series to enjoy this wonderful picture book. The artwork is beautiful and there are brief descriptions about the creatures featured in the series.

I personally rank this number third because of my love of Tony DiTerlizzi’s artwork. The pictures have a nice mix of different mediums, sketches and watercolour.

2.) How to Find Flower Fairies by Cicely Mary Barker

prettys

This is a sequel the to Fairyopolis. It is a surprise, but I found this one much better than the first. How to Find Flower Fairies is hands down the most gorgeous pop-out book I have ever seen in my life. Each picture is unique but equally gorgeous.

Like the previous book, there are notes you can roll down and messages in envelopes you can take out. It really is an amazing and elaborate pop-up picture book.

1.) Finding Fairies: Secrets for Attracting Little People from Around the World by Michelle R. McCann and  Marianne Monson Burton

findingfairies

The reason I rank this as number one is for multiple reasons. One, it covers fairies from all around the world, not just North America. It is difficult to find a book on the subject of fairies that covers every continent.

Finding Fairies is full of stories, information as well as crafts, recipes, games and party ideas all centred around the theme of fairies and other little folk.

One thought on “Top 5 Fairy Books

  1. Pingback: “The Spiderwick Chronicles” by Holly Black and Tony DiTerlizzi | Zezee with Books

Leave a Reply

