Slut

beaslut

No one has ever called me a slut, at least not to my face. I would not appear to be the stereotypical slut, since I only had my first kiss when I was eighteen and I have always liked to dress in jeans and comfy sweaters.

But when I made my sexual debut, damn, I knew I was going to be a slut.

What even is a slut? By definition, it’s a female who has many casual sexual partners. Check. I won’t get into the juicy and gory details, but lets just say I’ve never had a problem getting physical with someone quickly, if I liked them, of course.

In the beginning, I was ashamed. According to my mother, you have to have had a certain x number of dates plus a few months dating (monogamously, of course,) before you should even consider having sex with someone. I grew up around these values, so when I wasn’t following them, I did feel something was wrong with me.

But then I thought, Hey! If I was a guy, how would society portray me? Not a slut, that is for sure. If I was a guy, I would be pretty much normal in society’s eyes.

And then I realized…..the term slut….the very idea of being a slut, is nothing but socially constructed. Sexist and socially constructed. Labelling and shaming women as sluts is just another way to try to keep women in their place.

Fuck that.

slutty

If controlling my own sexuality and body makes me a slut, then I will nod to the label with pride.

I’m a slut because it’s my body and my choice.

I’m a slut because I don’t care how society views me.

I’m a slut because the very word itself, means absolutely nothing to me.

Leave a Reply

