A Reminder of Your Rights

Freedom Desktop Background

I don’t believe I was taught in school what all my basic rights were.

I knew when I was to turn eighteen, I would have the right to vote. I knew I had the right to free speech and the right to practice a religion of my choice.

Then there were some rights that I was not directly taught. Some may think these rights are so basic, why even bring them up? I strongly believe sometimes you need to focus on yourself, and what is more important than being reminded of your basic rights?

You have the right for each of these bullet points, as long as others’ rights are not violated in the process.

*Basic Rights

  • The right to be treated with respect.
  • The right to say no even when you feel guilty.
  • The right to experience and express your feelings.
  • The right to take time to slow down and think
  • The right to change your mind
  • The right to ask for what you want.
  • The right to do less than you are humanly capable of doing.
  • The right to ask for information.
  • The right to make mistakes.
  • The right to feel good about yourself.

*From Jakubowski and Lange’s The Assertive Option

As obvious as these points may seem, I had never read them straight off a sheet of paper. I realized then, these are my rights, not a luxury. As a human being, I have the right to change my mind, the right to make mistakes. We are all human, and cannot be perfect.

Leave a Reply

