Outpatient Day Hospital Program: Week 1

Contrary to popular belief, people who attend hospital programs to work on their mental health are not “crazy.”

I wouldn’t call myself crazy. I do however believe I need to work on some of my mental health issues, hence why I am taking this gap year in the first place.

Monday, January 12 was my starting date, I didn’t exactly know what to expect walking in. The program itself is five weeks long, Mondays to Fridays, so you have to be quite committed to it; and failing to attend classes without calling in will result in early discharge. There is a morning class and an afternoon class, which cover different topics. All of the classes are group focused, but you get to talk to a therapist one-on-one as well.

It’s only the first week, but I have already learned loads. The topic last week was distorted thinking, something I have struggled with for a long time.

So far, despite it only being the first week, I already feel improvement in myself. It has been a positive experience already, and I am so glad I am attending this program.

I think I’ll just briefly sum each week as they come and go, or maybe go more into detail later on if needed.

(ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Leave a Reply

