Runaway Devil

runawaydevils

Authors: Robert Remington and Sherri Zickefoose

My Rating: 4/5

I’m a huge Deadly Women fan, and in one of their episodes called Forbidden Love, the show featured a twelve year old girl that killed her family with help from her twenty three year old boyfriend. I was creeped out but fascinated at the same time. The authors of Runaway Devil were featured on the show, so I knew there was a book written about the case, and there was no way I was going to pass on this bizarre, dark, true crime story.

It was strange, twisted and a page turner. I read it all in one sitting, something I rarely do. It explores the life of the twelve year old girl nicknamed “JR,” the events that led up to the murders and after.

In some ways I wish this was fiction, the book itself reads like fiction, and it had all the elements of a creepy, crime novel; but when you remind yourself this actually happened, it is startling. On the other hand, the fact it really did happen made me even more interested as to how and why this could happen. It is a good story, but it will leave you horrified, or at least uneasy.

I think people will hate or love this book, depending on what their preferences in true crime are. I happened to love it because I could not put the book down until the very end. I also happen to have a weird interest in child murderers.

I highly recommend this if you are looking for an odd, unique true crime book, or if you like crime novels but would like to branch out into the non-fiction side.

Leave a Reply

